no return policy

Barely a song, but…in compiling collections of covers of every song on every Beatles album, in order, I realized that so far as I can tell, no one covered the fragment between “Cry Baby Cry” and “Revolution 9,” known as “Can You Take Me Back.” So I did.

I began with a loop of the acoustic version of Throwing Muses’ “Cry Baby Cry” (different song entirely) by Kristin Hersh, and then I just sang over it, recording the vocals and the loop on my MacBook’s built-in mic. Added a bit of reverb, and there ya go. I like the weird, bell-like tone the acoustic guitar loop takes on.

As a quick, off-the-cuff rendition of an off-the-cuff fragment, I think it works pretty well.

Monkey Typing Pool “Can You Take Me Back” (Beatles cover)

Leave a comment

Filed under noise

Leave a Reply

