insert lame pun re “covers” here

My last 2011 mix – the second covers mix of the year – is called caps lock —

—and has the following cover songs:

  1. Harry Nilsson & John Lennon “Subterranean Homesick Blues” (Bob Dylan cover)
  2. Deerhunter “Cool” (Pylon cover)
  3. MGMT “Lucifer Sam” (Pink Floyd cover)
  4. Neil Finn with Johnny Marr “There Is a Light That Never Goes Out” (Smiths cover)
  5. Squarewave “Black Eyed Dog” (Nick Drake cover)
  6. Sloan “Cars” (Gary Numan cover)
  7. High Cold Star “The Eraser” (Thom Yorke cover)
  8. Parenthetical Girls “Under the Ivy” (Kate Bush cover)
  9. Enon “White Rabbit” (Great Society/Jefferson Airplane cover)
  10. Les Demoniaques “Teenage Lust” (Jesus and Mary Chain cover)
  11. Sea States “Thirteen” (Big Star cover)
  12. Greg Laswell “The Killing Moon” (Echo & the Bunnymen cover)
  13. Nine Inch Nails “Zoo Station” (U2 cover)
  14. Bird “I Wanna Be Your Dog” (Iggy & the Stooges cover)
  15. Mike Viola, Lyle Workman, the Section Quartet “1000 Umbrellas” (XTC cover)
  16. Charles Bradley & the Menahan Street Band “Stay Away” (Nirvana cover)
  17. J.C. Brooks and the Uptown Sound “I Am Trying to Break Your Heart” (Wilco cover)
  18. Eagle and the Worm “Tightrope” (Janelle Monae cover)
  19. Big Daddy “A Day in the Life” (Beatles cover)
  20. The Saturday Morning Canasta Club “I’ve Just Seen a Face” (Beatles cover)
  21. Jon Brion “Play the Game” (Queen cover)
  22. Films of Colour “Slow Burn” (David Bowie cover)
  23. Steve Earle “Breed” (Nirvana cover)
  24. La Resistance “What We All Want” (Gang of Four cover)
  25. Johnny Cash “If You Could Read My Mind” (Gordon Lightfoot cover)

6 Comments

Filed under 2011, noise

6 responses to “insert lame pun re “covers” here

  1. Hey I just stumbled upon your blog, because I was curious about users who chose similar monikers. My first post was written this week and I also inuded Harry Nilsson so. I thought it was too much of a coincidence not to comment. Nice list!

  2. Also, I love The Menahan Street Band!

  3. joe

    where did you get the squarewave song?

  4. Joe: My brother-in-law recorded it on an iPhone at a live show – I extracted the audio. I think it’s posted on YouTube.

  5. joe

    well if you ever happen to find the vid again you should post a link to it here!

Leave a Reply

