Spring 2011 mix

My first mix of 2011. Ground rules: these are tracks that are either from albums I don’t own, or from EPs, live albums, compilations, and the like that aren’t eligible under my own rules for “best album.” Many of them are new; some of them aren’t—but they’re all tracks I ran into in the first three months of this year and liked a lot. They’re sequenced to play with no gap between tracks (two pairs slightly crossfade, in fact).

Anyway, here’s the track listing for my Spring 2011 mix, fn:

  1. Violens “When to Let Go” (single, 2011)
  2. John Brodeur “Confidentially” Tiger Pop (2001)
  3. Cold Cave “The Great Pan Is Dead” Cherish the Light Years (2011)
  4. Parenthetical Girls “The Pornographer” Privilege pt. III: Mend & Make Do (2011)
  5. Carol Bui “‘Geisha’ Means ‘Open Minded'” Red Ship (2010)
  6. Anika “Yang Yang” Anika (2010)
  7. Women “Bullfight” (Women/Cold Pumas/Fair Ohs/Friendo split EP, 2011)
  8. Wire “He Knows” Strays EP (ltd. release with Red Barked Tree, 2011)
  9. The Morning After Girls “Who Is They” Alone (2011)
  10. Withered Hand “New Dawn” Good News (2009)
  11. Kirsty MacColl “They Don’t Know” (single, 1979)
  12. Fleet Foxes “Helplessness Blues” Helplessness Blues (2011)
  13. Spectre Folk “The Blackest Medicine” The Blackest Medicine II (2011)
  14. The Two Koreas “Haunted Beach” Science Island (2011)
  15. David Kilgour & the Heavy Eights “Diamond Mine” Left by Soft (2011)
  16. John Stewart “The Spinnin’ of the World” Bombs Away Dream Babies (1979)
  17. Momus “Salty Hot Peanuts” (alteration of Vampire Weekend’s “Diplomat’s Son”; website release, 2010)
  18. The Boom Bang “Tobacula” World War Fun (2011)
  19. EMA “The Grey Ship” (final demo, 2010)
  20. Dent May “Holiday Face” (single, 2010)
  21. Admiral Radley “I Heart California” I Heart California (2010)
  22. Robotanists “On/Off the Ledge”  On/Off the Ledge (2011)
  23. Woodpigeon / Laura Leif “Winter Song” [part 1] Ho! Ho! Ho! Canada Deux compilation (2010)
  24. The Luyas “Cold Canada” Too Beautiful to Work (2011)
  25. IfIHadAHiFi “Imperial Walker” (online single, 2011: lyrics here – download this track again and pay for it! All proceeds to Progressives United)




Filed under 2011, noise

3 responses to “Spring 2011 mix

  1. Rex

    Hey, I know where that John Stewart track came from…

  2. Rex: Indeed you do!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s