find me in my field of grass

For some reason, back in the immediate aftermath of the Beatles reissues, I felt compelled to imagine what might have happened had the notion that the White Album was just too diffuse and unwieldy held sway. I imagined a single-disc set focusing on rockers (and emphasizing that the White Album had quite a number of those, along with a few similar-spirited contemporary non-album tracks), for which I put together a faux tracklist and even designed a fake album cover. Except it became a real album cover, because I burned a CD and put the CD in it.

So what happens with the rest of the White Album? Continuing this alternate Beatles history, a quick follow-up focusing on another prominent White Album thingy: your more pastoral moments. So I once again sequenced a fake Beatles album, again allowing myself to draw from roughly contemporary singles and songs that showed up on the (rather useless) Yellow Submarine soundtrack album. (In this alternate timeline, no such thing existed…since the audience for George Martin’s score was…small.)

Here’s the tracklisting:

  1. Across the Universe [No One’s Gonna Change Our World version: with the “Apple Scruffs” backing vocals and “nature” sound effects]
  2. The Inner Light [sped-up very mildly to bring it in pitch with the previous track (both in E-flat) ]
  3. Blackbird
  4. Piggies
  5. Rocky Raccoon
  6. I Will
  7. Julia [end of “side 1”]
  8. Mother Nature’s Son
  9. The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill
  10. Martha My Dear
  11. Don’t Pass Me By
  12. Cry Baby Cry [“Can You Take Me Back” omitted]
  13. Long, Long, Long

And here are some pics of the cover: obviously, I tried to translate some design ideas from the first collection to this one, to demonstrate that they’re sort of a matched but opposite pair. Here’s the front cover:

And here’s the whole inside, unfolded:

Finally, here’s the unfolded view of the outside covers (pretend I’m much more competent at cutting and glueing and those blades of “grass” align…):

Doubtful that anyone’s keeping score, but this leaves a couple-few White Album tracks, and a handful of otherwise uncollected tracks dating back to 1967 or so, that in this alternate history would still be uncollected. Not sure what I’d call it, and no clue right now re cover, but here’s a sequence…:

  1. Lady Madonna
  2. Wild Honey Pie
  3. Only a Northern Song [cheater: used the Yellow Submarine “songtrack” stereo mix]
  4. Why Don’t We Do it in the Road?
  5. You Know My Name (Look Up the Number) [I’m perverse: I used the full-length Anthology version…]
  6. Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da
  7. Hey Jude [end of “side 1”]
  8. It’s All Too Much
  9. All Together Now
  10. Honey Pie
  11. Revolution 9 [includes “Can You Take Me Back” at beginning]
  12. Good Night

This was hell to sequence: I’m quite comfortable being a Paul defender, but having to find a place for both “Ob-la-di, Ob-la-da” and “Honey Pie” does tax the shmaltzometer: my solution (obviously) was to prescribe the astringent of “Revolution 9” as antidote to the latter.

Leave a comment

Filed under graphics, indulgence, noiselike

Leave a Reply

