a future in noise

Here’s the playlist of my most-favored songs in the first three months of 2010. The songs aren’t necessarily new, but they’re generally new to me, and they’re most often items that aren’t on full albums that I own. Essentially, as I take in stray songs, I listen to them…and these are the ones that rose to the top.

Here ya go – my first playlist of 2010, Pants on the Ground (Tro-lo-lo-lo-lo-lo Lo):

  1. Sparklehorse “Happy Man (Memphis Version)”: Much harder to listen to now than it used to be…
  2. Matt Wilson “Descender!”: Just an accident that this begins with two older songs…
  3. Wounded Lion “Friendly?”
  4. Portishead “Chase the Tear”
  5. FM Belfast “Par Avion”
  6. Cheval Sombre “Little Bit of Heaven”
  7. Imaad Wasif “Priestess”
  8. Woodpigeon “Empty-Hall Sing-Along”
  9. Avi Buffalo “What’s In It For?”: Songs that compel one to sing along should not be pitched so damned far out of my range.
  10. Love of Diagrams “A Part of You”: Astonishingly, it is not 1980 in Athens, Georgia.
  11. Past Lives “Don’t Let the Ashes Fill Your Eyes”
  12. The Octagon “Suicide Kings”
  13. Robyn Hitchcock “Dragon Fly”
  14. Peter Wolf Crier “Crutch & Cane”
  15. Mumford & Sons “Little Lion Man”
  16. The Aerosols “China”
  17. The Mommyheads “Spiders”
  18. Patrick Bower & the World Without Magic “The Dark Lord of Love”
  19. Sonoi “Sherry Fall”
  20. Glasser “Tremel”
  21. Epstein y el Conjunto feat. School of Seven Bells “A Lost Animal”
  22. Jaguar Love “Polaroids and Red Wine”
  23. Telex “My Time”: In which it really is 1980.
  24. St. Vincent “Your Lips Are Red” (live in Milwaukee, 2-17-10)
  25. Jimmy Fallon “Pants on the Ground”: For which you can blame not only the mix title, obviously, but the whole damned this-year’s-trend of naming my mixes after pop-cultural memes. You are forewarned.

Since this is largely indie-rock stuff, I will note that that genre’s animal fascination continues unabated. Eleven animal references (artist or title) in 25 tracks. Yeesh.

(In lieu of a belt, I offer the first comment.)

7 Comments

Filed under 2010, noise

7 responses to “a future in noise

  1. I find it interesting that while I’ve been more thrilled by more new music in the first few months of 2010 than I’ve been since any year staring with “198” (198 C.E., now that was a scene), there is exactly one artist – Mr. Hitchcock – that my listening has in common with yours.

    (I didn’t know about that collaboration with School of Seven Bells at all, btw.)

  2. Keep in mind, this is the non-album list – I imagine we have a bit more overlap on albums…

  3. Thanks–this looks great!

    I don’t watch American Idol, nor Jimmy Fallon’s show, but his Neil Young pastiche made me howl with laughter, and became a (maddening!) ear worm for weeks after I heard it just once on someone’s FB page. Now it’s started again. Eeep!

  4. Michael Wo

    I was just listening to the Sonoi track, thinking “nice – it sounds like Manishevitz.” Which made me look up what Manishevitz are up to these days… and I wound up at Sonoi’s site! This album is going to the top of the wish list.

  5. Michael – interestingly, though I’d sort of had that thought (sounds like Manishevitz) I hadn’t followed up, or had forgotten anything I’d known about Sonoi…but yeah, there’s a reason for that similarity! Actually, helping me remember songs that were interesting is probably the main reason I even do these mixes…otherwise stuff would just dissipate into the ether, since my memory’s no help…

  6. Michael Wo

    My wife makes fun of my constant list-making, but it’s the only way I remember what chores need to be done, what records I want to buy, what I need to fix on the house… by the time I’m out of school and the kids don’t need constant attention, I’ll have more time to remember but by that point my mind will probably be wasting away.

Leave a Reply

