nonesuch nomenclature

For some reason, this semester among my 70 or so students, there are a number of duplicated names where one student is male and the other is female. There’s always been your handful of people named “Chris” or “Pat” or “Sandy” (pretty rare: few women call themselves “Chris” these days, it seems), but this semester I have male/female pairs of Jordans and Alexes, plus an Erin and an Aaron in the same class (aurally indistinguishable), not to mention a Devon, Dana, and Lindsay whose gender was not clear until I met them (also a “Shannon” – but that’s only rarely a male name these days).

And a “Saeree” – a male whose name is pronounced the same as the 30 Rock character Cerie. Whom, I’m sure, no one would mistake for male.

1 Comment

Filed under langwich

One response to “nonesuch nomenclature

  1. My brother is named Pat and his wife is Chris. He does not find that Saturday Night Live sketch funny at all.

    My wife always has a lot of international students and I play guess the gender with her class role. I bat about .600.

Leave a Reply

