to hang a gambling bore?

Over on Facebook, my brain popped up the bit of useless information that once upon a time, I’d stumbled upon a definition in the OED of my first name, “jeff,” as a noun. I realized that hey, one of the privileges of my academic employment is access to the online OED via our library…and so, off I went, to verify whether I’d hallucinated this peculiar definition. Hurrah, I had not.

The definition offered is that jeff is “printers’ slang” meaning “To throw or gamble with quadrats as with dice.” A quadrat, in this sense, is basically a small block of metal used for spacing. So, basically, my name means tossing around blanks.

Turns out jeff is also a noun, in two different senses. The first one (historically) is attested as “circus slang” (!) and means, simply, “rope.” The second one derives from the name “Jefferson Davis” and is African-American slang meaning a hick or a bore…with derived terms “jeff artist” and (presumably the sort of headwear a hick or bore would wear) a “jeff hat.”

All of this should prove to be convenient for anyone wishing to insult me, since for the most part, all they have to do is use my name!

Leave a comment

Filed under indulgence, insanity

Leave a Reply

